Lifestyle · Travel

January Favourites.

As January ends, I’m wondering where it went. Notoriously, January is a long one. The month of paying for festive indulgence and enduring cold , gloomy days. But this January has been different; it has passed quickly and enjoyably. I think it’s because I have had much to be grateful for. Inspired by this,  I’d like to try something a little different, a favourites post. I really enjoy watching favourites videos on You Tube too, so hopefully it will be fun to try out a similar concept here.

img_2828
Wewelsburg.

 

We rounded off the Christmas break with a visit to Wewelsberg Castle. Although a great family day out, the castle has a bit of a grim history having been burnt down, a centre for Witch Trials and a place of great significance to the Nazi party. Today, it houses fascinating exhibitions and a nice terrace café for the obligatory kaffee und kuchen.

img_3002
Frankfurt

 

To celebrate my husbands birthday this month, we spent a few days in Frankfurt. Due to his work commitments, this was his first birthday in years we have spent as a family. I can’t begin to tell you how much that means to us. Although it’s a cliché , Frankfurt did seem to have something for everyone. Like many German cities it is a curious mix of old and new, cutting edge and whimsical. The skyline is quite something. It’s a lovely city just to stroll . Probably a bit more pleasant when it isn’t minus seven, though. We escaped the cold  with a visit to the fascinating Museum Senckenberg, Frankfurt.

img_2946
no words needed!

 

I couldn’t mention our Frankfurt visit without a mention of the man dressed as a horse enthusiastically playing the drums. He was actually rather good. Certainly a favourite moment of that day. I’m pretty easily pleased.

img_3179-2
These are a few of my favourite things….did you sing that?

 

I didn’t make any New Years Resolutions, but I did resolve to take better care of my skin and overall wellbeing. To that end I’ve enjoyed discovering Liz Earle Superskin range and my skin is noticeably brighter. I have also discovered the joy of sheet masks. Long a staple of Korean style skin care routines, these masks are genius.And being light weight, single use, sealed packages of loveliness they are also perfect for travelling. I’m embarrassingly late to the party on this one. They are also handy for terrifying the husband when he encounters me with a strange paper mask artfully arranged across my visage.

img_3181-2

My final favourite for the month is a simple one. Tulips! Having bid goodbye to the Christmas greenery,I’ve loved filling the house with fresh tulips. I love the association to spring they carry. I think any fresh flowers bring life to a room, but tulips are an especially cheerful bloom.

 

This post is different from my usual, so let me know what you think in the comments. I’d also love to know the places and things that have made you smile this month, too.

Wifeofandtravels x

 

Leave a Reply

